Home > Anime > Anime I’m Currently Watching

Anime I’m Currently Watching

Chain Chronicle: The Light of Haecceitas – This show needs to be an actual video game asap! The potential is so strong in this one. The show had its entertaining value but it had some fundamental flaws. First off, it’s 12 eps total. A show with a huge cast of named characters, how can 12 eps cover all that? 2nd, it starts in the MIDDLE of the story.  What we end up is a rushed product. Good animation though. The world setting is quite ambitious but too little to fully digest. I guess my final criticism is Phoena. She’s the most useless female character ever presented. If you take her out of the story, literally nothing would change. I’m a sucker for fantasy genre anime so it’s such a shame this show didn’t get the treatment it deserves.

GRANBLUE FANTASY The Animation – Another fantasy anime I have high hopes for but I should expect less just so that I won’t end be being disappointed. The high notes on this show is without a doubt, the visuals. The art has this unique hand drawn style that’s got the 90s feel to it. The story though is as generic as it gets. A peaceful village gets involved in an evil empire’s conflict where someone (most likely a female character) within defects and runs away only to encounter someone from that village (your main hero). This is literally in the most basic J-RPG stories in terms of setup. Other than that, I can’t wait for the actual show to start airing in April.

Scum’s Wish – A mature take on high school romance that took me by surprise when the anime adaptation was announced. It’s nice when anime can be this daring such as this. It starts off pretty interesting, then it kinda goes downhill for me as you learn more about the characters. Most of them are unlikeable. Hopefully that’ll soon change.

Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans 2nd Season – Where the show is currently at, I don’t know who to root for. Seeing Mcgillis’ past in its full form was quite a reveal. With him rising against Gallahorn, Tekkadan is kinda the third wheel of things. I honestly don’t know whether they’ll stay with Mcgillis or go on their own. One thing that annoyed me in the most recent ep is Mcgillis’ character writing. He went from smart and cunning to a fool. I guess that lust for power went over his head.

Seiren – This is a very safe type of innocent romance, ecchi anime. I’m not sure why I’m watching it, but it does reek of Amagami SS. Every 4 eps is a different girl route. It has its  moments. Nothing amazing or bad, just simply entertaining to lighten your day.

Tales of Zestiria The Cross Second Season – Okay, I’m at a loss with this one. It seems that this adaptation is taking on original material contrary to the game. The game however explores certain parts of the story the anime completely glosses over. The two adaptations can’t live on its own. That animation though. Wow!

 

UPDATE:

Holy how did I forget this show?

Konosuba S2 – Anime of the season. One of the best fantasy comedies anime I’ve seen in nearly a year or two. Highly recommended!

Categories: Anime
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

