Home > Anime > Summer 2016 Anime

Summer 2016 Anime

berserk-animation-official-teaser-4

That time again has come. After watching the first couple episodes of each candidates, here are the ones that met my criteria.

91 Days – This show already sets an example of how to do an excellent premiere. Even before watching the show, the premise involving mafia and revenge already got me intrigued. I’m not expecting to be another Gungrave but just something good without ending the show in the lack of closure or resolution like Gangsta.

The Heroic Legend of Arslan: Dust Storm Dance – Another fantastic premiere. Season one’s animation budget was inconsistent throughout but I’m hoping this season will improve on that considering this will only be 8 episodes total. It’s certainly odd, however there’s excuse for the studio to cut the animation budget for this show’s length.

Berserk – Contrary to popular opinion, I’m actually okay with the weird CG animation. Sure it’s not the Berserk sequel that we deserve but it’s one we need. I’ve already been used to the Golden Age arc movie trilogy’s animation so this is no big deal. Decent soundtrack by the way.

Mob Psycho 100 – All I knew about this was the fact that it’s by the same author as One Punch Man. But holy shit, I’m sold. I’m loving the sketchy style animation. Although this has some school settings, I’m gonna have to break my own rule with this. I find it funny that the two main characters are like Saitama and Genos with their powers swapped.

Tales of Zestiria the X – I’ve been on and off upon watching the premiere at Anime Expo. My biggest gripe so far is the amount of exposition this show loves spout out the characters mouths. Rather than showing us what’s happening, it seems like these voice actors demanded more lines so they can get paid more. Aside from that, the visuals are quite something since it’s by ufotable. I am though, the OP scene showed the main female character from Tales of Berseria for a few seconds. I wonder how that’s related to Zestiria.

 

Still watching…

Macross Delta – Still digging it. Surprised to see the lack of progress on the love triangle aspect.

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable – Fun as usual. The episodes with Koichi have been the most enjoyable so far.

Categories: Anime Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

