Home > misc > The Books of Monte Cristo

The Books of Monte Cristo

20130419_205210

Started The Count of Monte Cristo way back in early high school days but I never finished it. So just recently, I decided to read it again from the beginning but then when I get more than the half way point, I realized something felt off. When I get to the last 50 pages, the Count finally swings his revenge in full scale. I find that very late considering how much needs to be done. Then I noticed this particular version of the book I own (pictured above) is the abridged version. DO NOT READ THE ABRIDGED VERSION. I was wondering if my reading comprehension was that bad but it was the book’s fault for causing some confusion.

Went to my local bookstore and bought the unabridged version.

20130419_205225

Always go for hardcover for classics.

20130419_205314

Left: Unabridged. Right: Abridged

Unabridged version is over 1400 pages. That’s more pages than the bible. This might take a month or two to read.

Categories: misc Tags:
  1. doctoravocado
    April 20, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    I listened to the whole thing on audiobook last summer. It took forever! Also listening to the audiobook, I got a lot of hefty French pronunciations. “Look! It’s the Ferrignoawahn!”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

