Home > Anime, review > anime review: Bodacious Space Pirates

anime review: Bodacious Space Pirates

Highschool girls and space pirates. What more can you ask for?

This was a pleasant surprise. At first, I thought the show was nothing more than some moeblob fanservice ooze-fest only beneath the pirate skin. But seriously, Bodacious Space Pirates? What the hell kinda title is that? I wasn’t gonna waste my time with this but I’m glad watched it.

This came in the right time right after I finished watching Rinne no Lagrange season 1. And like Rinne, it has many likeable characters. However, I prefer Bodacious Space Pirates more because it’s so much more charming and stress relieving. Without a doubt, the best part of the show is the main character herself, Marika Kato. She’s always cheerful, optimistic, and just simply lovable. Throughout most of the show, her character is developed from normal highschool girl to competent space pirate captain. There was never an angsty or emo moment she had to go through. Of course by all means, she ain’t perfect but the show never went mary/gary stu on her.

What surprises me the most is ZERO fanservice. For a show like this, you’d at least expect fanservice dedicated eps like hot springs but there wasn’t any. Even the beach episode hardly revealed any skin. I think it was a good choice to steer away from that so it reveal its true charm through its lovable cast. A cutesy highschool girl space pirate, that’s fanservice to me already.

As for as plot goes, it mostly consists of miniature arcs that spans from 2-5 eps. With the tone of this series, it’s understandable there wasn’t a main plot to go with. Half the time, it gave out a slice-of-life feeling just seeing what Marika and her friends do in their school days or pirating.

I do have to warn you, the show does start off sluggish in the first 5 eps. Lot of techno babble and sci-fi terminology can easily bore viewers. As much as I do love the cast, everyone gets along a little too well. If our reality was ever like that, then the world be a much better place.

If you’re looking for a feel-good type of show with loads of fun, laid back, cutesy but not girly, this is something that must be checked out. I love Bodacious Space Pirates to death. Every episode managed to slap a smile on my face. Coming back from a stressful day at work, this show has always made my day. It’s on my amazon wishlist for blurays. I can’t wait for the upcoming movie and I sure hope its a sequel, not a recap.

Rating: 9/10

Categories: Anime, review Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

