Home > Anime > Best of 2012: Anime

Best of 2012: Anime

2012 has been a great year for anime. Here are my top shows and most disappointing.

Top 5 Animes

Jormungand

Without a doubt, both seasons of Jormungand gave me such a good impression on me that it made it to my top 10 personal favorite list. It’s been a while to see an ambitious series like this one with a large likable cast and separate story arcs eventually building up to the meat of the main story. I highly suggest this to any anime fans who haven’t seen it.

Ano Natsu de Matteru

As a big fan of the Onegai franchise, this placement was already established. Most romance shows usually ends with the main couple sharing their first kiss or just confessing to each other, however this series surpasses that by showing the main couple after being in love and it’s handled pretty well! Also have to mention the final episode was one of the best I’ve seen in a long time just how well it was executed.

Another

Anime in horror/thriller genre generally tends to be very hit or miss but Another does a fine job with its creepy atmosphere in its dark dark setting. You can almost call this a Final Destination of anime in the first 10 eps and Battle Royal in the last 2. The visuals are absolutely gorgeous to look at. It definitely something I want to buy on bluray. It’s a great thriller/mystery/suspense to check out.

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

Tonari matches up to the same enjoyment level as Maid-sama. For a shoujo anime, it doesn’t feel very shoujo at all. This is probably partly due to its non-shoujo-y character designs but also the 2 main characters are fatally flawed making them really interesting. But the biggest strength this show has to offer is its strong supporting cast being actual characters rather than just being there for the sake of the main couple. The manga is still ongoing and I’m anxious to see if there’s a season 2.

Persona 4 The Animation

Watching the first 3 eps of this show made me very skeptical how this adaptation was gonna turn out because it tried being way too faithful to its source material. But to my surprise, it eventually became its own thing. I have to give credit to the director for turning my disappointment into amazement so quickly in a span of a ep. There were a few eps I thought were far better laid out in the show than the game. For example, episode 12. The main highlight is our main character Yuu. The show certainly gave his character a chance to develop which severely lacked in the game because he was nothing more than just a poker face who can literally do anything. Just a prop used to advance the events. Persona 4 is what I call video game anime adaptation done right. Now I have the urge to play P4 Golden Vita game.

Honorable Mentions: Chihiyafuru, Sakamichi no Apollon

Top 3 Worst / Most Disappointing

Sword Art Online

This needs no introduction. It’s pretty clear how disappointed I was how shitty this anime is. So therefor, moving on.

Guilty Crown

I can’t imagine how different Guilty Crown would have been if strayed from using so many cliches. The visual designs and music was enough to keep latched on to its entirety. It’s a good example of style over substance.

Mobile Suit Gundam AGE

And finally, Gundam AGE. I enjoyed the first generation very much. It had some good buildups in both story and characters. 2nd generation was above average. 3rd generation, my goodness, how did things go downhill so fast? Let me start off with Kio, the worst Gundam protagonist in its franchise history. This guy is the very definition of stupid. 2nd is the Vagans, the most incompetent enemy forces. Just horribly written as depicted nothing more than a rabbid cultist society. 3rd is the final episode. Never again I’ve seen something so rushed and random that all I could think of was “wtf?”

Categories: Anime
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

