Home > Game, rant, review > game review: Xenogears

game review: Xenogears

Better late than never. Short version review.

“Alrighty! Let’s get this baby started!”

“Nice anime intro. Music feels epic.”

“Sweeeeeet, mechs! Poor Fei and the ideon’ed Lahan Village… oh wait, that fugly kid and some others survived. Woo?”

“I’m so lost in this forest. Elly!”

“Ugh the random battles annoy the crap outta me.”

“Who’s this Elvis lookalike?”

“Here comes a hot blooded character, Bart. Seriously? A whip? Terrible choice of weapon.”

“Such horrendous dub on the anime cut scenes.”

“Who’s this green mutant? Useless character.”

“Murder in the sewers. Ugh damn those random battles.”

“Citan, you’re so awesome.”

“Holy crap! Weltall-ID mode = badass.”

“Ramsas, the Jerid Messa of Xenogears.”

“I can upgrade stuff on the mechs but not fuel regen or booster efficiency? Lame.”

“Tower of Babel is a reminder of why I hate platformers with a passion.”

“Miang, what a bitch. Sucks to be a female in this game.”

“Wow Fei… your life sucks. At least you got laid by the hottest girl in the game.”

“Krellian, you bastard.”

“Gotta love the design on the title mech.”

Ah fuck it! There’s too much crap to talk about in this game so I’m taking the lazy way out. If you wanna discuss it with me, feel free to comment below. I would love to talk about each generation of Abel/Elly but it’s like I have to write a 50 page report on its history. Also, it’s been a while since I played it except I remember the things that annoyed the hell outta me. I had no issue with the pacing of disc 2 by the way, just more on the gameplay side.

Rating: 7.5/10

Categories: Game, rant, review
  1. Brian
    December 8, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    I really enjoyed the game the first time through. I tried again recently, though, and I checked online and found out that 1/2 hr into the game, I had already locked myself out of getting a powerful item later. So I stopped playing. I was playing on my PSP and consequently didn’t want to have to follow a guide.

    Also, the combat felt more of a chore this time around. More like a penance in order to get to the good story parts.

    • December 9, 2011 at 1:42 am

      Powerful item? I hardly remember if there was any of such in the beginning. First time playing it, I haven’t followed any guides until I hit Miang as a boss fight near the end. Battle system was quite unique and cool to see but after playing for 20 hrs, it eventually became tiresome to watch the same moves over and over again.

      Aside from random battles, platforming, and other gameplay nuisance, obviously the plot is what kept me pushing through to finish the game. As many players complained about this, I didn’t mind the rush paced on disc 2 since the major plot points were resolved. If I were to point out anything that was left out in the plot (at least from what I remember), that would be Rico’s family matter. You get the sense of the father & son subplot about Rico and the head of Kislev. But other that, it never gets touched upon. Otherwise, Xenogears still remains as my top favorite video game story.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

