Home > Uncategorized > I’m in a pinch

I’m in a pinch

There’s a lot of highly anticipated PS3 games coming out (or already have) this month and I’m really indecisive what to get first. So here are the games.

God of War Collection
God of War 3
Star Ocean 4
FF13
Resonance of Fate
Heavy Rain

I really need a good RPG to keep. Valkyria Chronicles doesn’t count since that’s more of a strategy than RPG. FF13, I thought about preordering it but I’m not sure. After reading and seeing the battle system, it didn’t give that much of an impression.

Star Ocean 4 is more of my thing because of the real time RPG battle system. The character models are rather creepy looking. It’s like they’re dolls. I don’t think $60 is worth it but I get a hunch it’s not gonna last long in stores.

After seeing loads of gameplay videos of Resonance of Fate, I almost creamed pants. I really like the battle system presented here. Again with the characters model being creepy and all especially the blonde somewhat goth-looking girl. I’m worried about the environment being all nothing but dark, steam-punk and industrial. Hope it’s not a Midgar setting the entire game.

God of War has been on my buy list for quite some time. I was impressed with the 3rd demo which reinforced me to push the collection on top of my list. It’s a great value for 2 games in 1 for only $30.

Heavy Rain looks great but $60 is too much. The one thing I was annoyed with while playing the demo was having to hold R2 in order to move your character.

So what to pick. Technically I’m a broke student so, God of War collection it is! But dammit! I haven’t played any RPGs for months. =\

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Anonymous
    March 8, 2010 at 12:12 am

    GOW Collection was $23 at the local Disc Replay on Friday. Can’t guarantee it’s still there, though.

  2. Flame-X
    March 8, 2010 at 1:45 am

    Hmm… Cybknight FTW!

  3. Bando
    March 8, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    Well I would look at it this way, the GOW Collection and GOW3 are both very mainstream and popular, and you’ll be able to get them soon for half off if you can wait a few months, FF13 while awesome, also very mainstream, and will probably be cheap in a few months as well. Heavy Rain is cool but short, rental or borrowing is a good idea, that leaves the two tri-ace games, Star Ocean’s are typically left on shelf’s for a while and 4 wasn’t very popular…though its still a lot of fun. So that leaves the new IP Resonance of Fate, which looks to be a lot of fun and very original, and will most likely be the rarest and hardest to find, also the most expensive on the secondhand market, or trying to find the game new in a few months. So if you could only buy one, that would be the one I’d buy.

  4. Flame-X
    March 9, 2010 at 4:25 am

    Thanks for the input.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

